Trip Highlights:

  • Ballintubber Abbey
  • Belleek Pottery
  • Blarney Castle
  • Boyne Valley Visitor Centre
  • Cliffs of Moher
  • Giant's Causeway
  • Jaunting car ride in Killarney
  • Kilmainham Gaol
  • Kylemore Abbey
  • Russborough House
  • Sheepdog Demonstration
  • Titanic Belfast

Dining Experiences:

  • Nine dinners including Taylors Three Rock Pub with live show, a local venue in Dingle, the Walled City Brewery Restaurant, and Wm Cairnes Gastropub farewell dinner.

Hotels:

  • Herbert Park Hotel
    Dublin (2 nights)
  • The River Lee Hotel
    Cork (1 night)
  • Killarney Plaza Hotel
    Killarney (2 nights)
  • Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa - Galway
    Galway (2 nights)
  • City Hotel, Derry
    Derry (2 nights)
  • Cabra Castle Hotel
    Kingscourt (1 night)
  • The D Hotel
    Drogheda (1 night)

 

2018 IRISH ODYSSEY 12 DAYS / 11 NIGHTS

Day 1: DUBLIN TOUR & KILMAINHAM GAOL
Tour begins 2:00 PM, Dublin hotel. Set out on a tour of Dublin’s highlights to view Trinity College, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and the General Post Office. Visit Kilmainham Gaol where many of Ireland’s leaders, including Robert Emmett, Eamon DeValera and Padraig Pearse, were imprisoned during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Enjoy a welcome drink with your group before dining independently.

Day 2: RUSSBOROUGH HOUSE & TAYLOR’S THREE ROCK PUB
Take in the delightful scenery of the Wicklow Mountains as you head to Blessington for a guided tour of stately Russborough House, a Palladian mansion filled with interesting treasures of art and photography. The afternoon is free to use your vouchers to visit a featured attraction. In the evening, head to Taylor’s Three Rock Pub for dinner with traditional music, songs and step-dancing.
(B, D)

Day 3: FARMHOUSE VISIT & HOUSE OF WATERFORD CRYSTAL
Travel through Kildare to visit a traditional farmhouse and learn about country living while enjoying tea and scones. Drive south to Waterford to tour the House of Waterford Crystal. Watch experienced craftspeople through the various stages of production, from glass blowing and cutting to the final polishing of pieces to make them sparkle. Continue along the south coast to Cork for dinner and overnight stay.
(B, D)

Day 4: BLARNEY CASTLE & KILLARNEY
Start your day with a local guide on a brief walking tour of Cork and the English Market. Visit Blarney Castle to kiss the famous “Stone of Eloquence” or stroll through the lovely gardens. Treat yourself to quality Irish-made goods at Blarney Woollen Mills. Enjoy the scenery in Counties Cork and Kerry as you head to the colourful town of Kenmare. Stop at Moll’s Gap for great views of part of the Ring of Kerry and watch trained dogs herding sheep.
(B, D)

Day 5: JAUNTING CAR RIDE & DINGLE PENINSULA
Take a traditional horse-drawn jaunting car ride to Ross Castle to view Lough Leane, largest of Killarney’s lakes. Travel on to discover the beauties of the scenic Dingle Peninsula and experience views of heathery mountains, sandy stretches of beach and rocky headlands. There will be frequent stops at strategic locations to admire the views and take photos. Enjoy an early dinner in the charming town of Dingle before returning to Killarney.
(B, D)

Day 6: CLIFFS OF MOHER & GALWAY
Sample tea and scones in a pub in Listowel, associated with the writer, J. B. Keane. Embark on a ferry ride across River Shannon Estuary and drive along the coast of County Clare. View the famous Cliffs of Moher, an impressive wall of rock that soars 200m above the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to O’Brien’s Tower for views of Connemara and the Aran Islands. Join a local guide for a walking tour of Galway.
(B, D)

Day 7: "THE QUIET MAN" & CONNEMARA
Enjoy a guided walking tour of Cong where “The Quiet Man” movie was made in 1952. Travel through Connemara for sweeping views of misty mountains and shimmering lakes. Stop at Kylemore Abbey for a walk through the elegant mansion, set beside a tranquil lake. Enjoy a casual lunch before returning to Galway, where the rest of the day is free for independent sightseeing and dining.
(B, L)

Day 8: BALLINTUBBER ABBEY & BELLEEK POTTERY
Travel north to Claremorris to visit Ballintubber Abbey, known as "the Abbey that refused to die." The abbey has the unique status of being Ireland's only royal Abbey, which has been in continuous use for more than 780 years. At Belleek Pottery, watch craftspeople shape and decorate clay into delicate pieces. Follow the Atlantic shoreline of Donegal Bay to the town of Donegal for some free time. Continue your drive through the majestic Barnesmore Gap to Derry.
(B, D)

Day 9: GIANT’S CAUSEWAY & DERRY WALK
Visit the Causeway Coast Discovery Centre for tea with scones and a turf-cutting demonstration. Explore the Giant’s Causeway, huge hexagonal basalt columns formed over 60 million years ago. The oversized rocks have given rise to many legends. Back in Derry, join a local guide for a short walk around the medieval city walls that completely encircle the old city centre. Complete your tour at the Walled City Brewery Restaurant where you will enjoy dinner with your fellow travellers.
(B, D)

Day 10: TITANIC BELFAST & CABRA CASTLE STAY
Head to Belfast for a panoramic city tour followed by a visit to Titanic Belfast to learn about this famous liner through state-of-the-art displays. Travel to Kingscourt and your castle hotel, built in 1760. Arrive mid-afternoon so that you can enjoy this lovely property. After dinner in the Court Restaurant, enjoy a display of Irish step-dancing.
(B, D)

Day 11: MEGALITHIC TOMBS & HISTORIC DROGHEDA WALK
Visit the Boyne Valley Visitor Centre to learn about the 5,000-year-old burial tombs of Newgrange and Knowth and walk through one of them. See how primitive people managed to align huge boulders precisely. Continue to the historic town of Drogheda for a leisurely stroll and sample locally-brewed beer in a traditional pub. In the evening, enjoy a farewell dinner with live music at Wm Cairnes Gastropub.
(B, D)

Day 12: TOUR ENDS IN DROGHEDA
Your tour ends after breakfast. Drogheda is 30 miles north of Dublin Airport so ensure you have appropriate transfer arrangements made.
(B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

12 days Dublin to Dublin
Start
Dublin
End
Dublin
Price (Land Only)
Twin Sharing
Fri Mar 09 2018 Tue Mar 20, 2018 C$2665
Fri Mar 16, 2018 Tue Mar 27, 2018 C$2665
Fri Mar 23, 2018 Tue Apr 03 2018 C$2815
Fri Mar 30, 2018 Tue Apr 10, 2018 C$2815
Fri Apr 06 2018 Tue Apr 17, 2018 C$2964
Fri Apr 13, 2018 Tue Apr 24, 2018 C$2965
Fri Apr 20, 2018 Tue May 01 2018 C$3270
Fri Apr 27, 2018 Tue May 08 2018 C$3270
Fri May 11, 2018 Tue May 22, 2018 C$3575
Fri May 18, 2018 Tue May 29, 2018 C$3680
Fri May 25, 2018 Tue Jun 05 2018 C$3675
Fri Jun 01 2018 Tue Jun 12, 2018 C$3770
Fri Jun 08 2018 Tue Jun 19, 2018 C$3770
Fri Jun 15, 2018 Tue Jun 26, 2018 C$3770
Fri Jun 22, 2018 Tue Jul 03 2018 C$3770
Fri Jun 29, 2018 Tue Jul 10, 2018 C$3770
Fri Jul 13, 2018 Tue Jul 24, 2018 C$3770
Fri Jul 20, 2018 Tue Jul 31, 2018 C$3770
Fri Aug 17, 2018 Tue Aug 28, 2018 C$3770
Fri Sep 07 2018 Tue Sep 18, 2018 C$3770
Fri Sep 14, 2018 Tue Sep 25, 2018 C$3770
Fri Sep 28, 2018 Tue Oct 09 2018 C$3440
Fri Oct 05 2018 Tue Oct 16, 2018 C$3105
Fri Oct 12, 2018 Tue Oct 23, 2018 C$3105
Fri Oct 26, 2018 Tue Nov 06 2018 C$2880
Fri Nov 09 2018 Tue Nov 20, 2018 C$2660