Trip Highlights:

  • Belleek Pottery
  • Blarney Castle
  • Cliffs of Moher
  • Connemara Celtic Crystal Factory
  • Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
  • Florence Court House
  • Sheepdog Demonstration
  • Slieve League Cliffs

Dining Experiences:

  • Seven dinners including a Clontarf Castle Hotel welcome dinner, Nancy’s Bar in Ardara, Abbey Tavern traditional Irish dinner and show.

Hotels:

  • Clontarf Castle Hotel
    Dublin (1 night)
  • Mill Park Hotel
    Donegal (2 nights)
  • Hotel Meyrick
    Galway (2 nights)
  • Killarney Avenue Hotel
    Killarney (2 nights)
  • Herbert Park Hotel
    Dublin (1 night)

 

2018 IRISH EXPLORER 9 DAYS / 8 NIGHTS

Day 1: DUBLIN TOURING & GLASNEVIN CEMETERY MUSEUM
Tour begins 2:00 PM, Clontarf Castle lobby. Clontarf Castle Hotel is a short ride from Dublin Airport and is situated a few miles to the north of Dublin city center. Head out for a tour of central Dublin with a local city guide to see elegant Georgian squares, public buildings and monuments. Visit Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, Ireland’s national cemetery, a who’s who of modern Irish. Join your group for a welcome drink followed by dinner in the castle hotel.
(D)

Day 2: FLORENCE COURT HOUSE & DONEGAL 
Visit Florence Court House, home of the Irish Yew. The original tree, discovered in 1760, can still be viewed in the grounds. Tour the magnificent 18th century mansion, renowned for its elaborate rococo plasterwork. Head to Blakes of the Hollow Pub, one of County Fermanagh’s oldest pubs, for a drink with your fellow travelers. Continue your travels north to Donegal. With its windswept hills where only sheep can thrive, Donegal is renowned for woolen production and tweeds.
(B, D)

Day 3: SLIEVE LEAGUE CLIFFS & GLENGESH
Head to Teelin to reach the best viewing point of the Slieve League sea cliffs, the highest in Europe. Travel along the coast then head inland through the majestic Glengesh Pass for views of mountains and valleys. Watch demonstrations of spinning and weaving at a local woolen shop. Enjoy dinner at the popular Nancy’s in Ardara.
(B, D)

Day 4: BELLEEK POTTERY & GALWAY
Discover the secrets that have made Belleek Pottery one of the most enduring success stories of Irish craftsmanship during a tour of Belleek Pottery. You’ll go behind the scenes to see how this world-famous fine china is made. Travel south to Galway to join a local guide for a gentle walking tour. Explore the medieval city walls, Lynch’s Castle and the narrow streets before enjoying dinner.
(B, D)

Day 5: SCENIC CONNEMARA & DAN O’HARA HOMESTEAD
Explore scenic Connemara to admire how constantly-changing cloud formations give granite hills, sparkling lakes and peat bogs an added dimension. Stop at the Connemara Celtic Crystal Factory where craftsmen demonstrate fine glass cutting. Travel through the picturesque scenery of hills and lakes to visit Dan O’Hara’s Homestead. Experience traditional methods of farming and see Connemara ponies and have a light lunch. Return to Galway and enjoy free time before dinner.
(B, L, D)

Day 6: CLIFFS OF MOHER & KILLARNEY
Travel around Galway Bay to view the Cliffs of Moher, which soar 700 feet above the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to O’Brien’s Tower, for views of the Aran Islands and Galway Bay. Drive through the pleasant countryside of Country Clare, which is dotted with ruined castles. Enjoy lunch on your own in a coastal village. Embark on a short ferry ride across the River Shannon Estuary. Arrive in Killarney with time to relax or explore before dinner.
(B, D)

Day 7: RING OF KERRY TOUR
Head out on the Ring of Kerry, Ireland’s most famous and popular scenic drive. Visit the Skellig Experience to discover the history of the rocky island of Skellig Michael where monks lived in early Christian times and where part of “Star Wars VII” was filmed. Immerse yourself in farm life and watch trained dogs herding sheep. Enjoy a casual lunch and continue around the scenic drive. Pause for panoramic mountain views at Moll’s Gap. In Killarney enjoy free time and discover some of the excellent restaurants and lively pubs.
(B, L)

Day 8: BLARNEY CASTLE & DUBLIN’S ABBEY TAVERN
Visit Blarney Castle to kiss the famous stone or take a gentle walk through the lovely parklands and colorful gardens. Treat yourself to Irish-made goods at the Blarney Woollen Mills before traveling north. Pause for photos at the stately Rock of Cashel, a limestone outcrop with picturesque ruins and continue to Dublin. Head to the Abbey Tavern for Irish cuisine, and lively entertainment.
(B, D)

Day 9: YOUR TOUR ENDS IN DUBLIN
Your tour ends after breakfast.
(B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

9 days Dublin to Dublin
Start
Dublin
End
Dublin
Price (Land Only)
Twin Sharing
Sun Mar 11, 2018 Mon Mar 19, 2018 C$1935
Sun Mar 18, 2018 Mon Mar 26, 2018 C$1995
Sun Apr 01 2018 Mon Apr 09 2018 C$2375
Sun Apr 08 2018 Mon Apr 16, 2018 C$2375
Sun Apr 15, 2018 Mon Apr 23, 2018 C$2960
Sun Apr 22, 2018 Mon Apr 30, 2018 C$2535
Sun Apr 29, 2018 Mon May 07 2018 C$2755
Sun May 06 2018 Mon May 14, 2018 C$3420
Sun May 13, 2018 Mon May 21, 2018 C$2835
Sun May 20, 2018 Mon May 28, 2018 C$2835
Sun May 27, 2018 Mon Jun 04 2018 C$2970
Sun Jun 03 2018 Mon Jun 11, 2018 C$3515
Sun Jun 10, 2018 Mon Jun 18, 2018 C$2930
Sun Jun 17, 2018 Mon Jun 25, 2018 C$2930
Sun Jun 24, 2018 Mon Jul 02 2018 C$3040
Sun Jul 01 2018 Mon Jul 09 2018 C$3625
Sun Jul 08 2018 Mon Jul 16, 2018 C$3015
Sun Jul 22, 2018 Mon Jul 30, 2018 C$3015
Sun Aug 12, 2018 Mon Aug 20, 2018 C$2930
Sun Aug 19, 2018 Mon Aug 27, 2018 C$3515
Sun Sep 02 2018 Mon Sep 10, 2018 C$3015
Sun Sep 09 2018 Mon Sep 17, 2018 C$3015
Sun Sep 23, 2018 Mon Oct 01 2018 C$3515
Sun Sep 30, 2018 Mon Oct 08 2018 C$2660
Sun Oct 07 2018 Mon Oct 15, 2018 C$2530
Sun Oct 21, 2018 Mon Oct 29, 2018 C$2385
Sun Oct 28, 2018 Mon Nov 05 2018 C$2865