2020 Irish Classic – 13 Days/12 Nights

 

TOUR HIGHLIGHTS
Authentic Local Experiences:
Visit the iconic John B Keane’s Pub in the heart of Listowel. See where he penned some of his most famous works sitting by a blazing fire in a room behind the bar.
View the majestic Cliffs of Moher, the famous sea cliffs that stretch 7 miles along the Atlantic
Explore 1,500 years of history on a guided walking tour of Derry; the peace process has brought a thriving arts scene to Ireland’s only completely walled city.
Trip Highlights:
Blarney Castle
Cliffs of Moher
Crumlin Road Gaol
Down Cathedral
Dunbrody Famine Ship
Giant’s Causeway
Titanic Belfast
Westport House
Dining Experiences:
12 breakfasts (B), 1 lunch(L) and 8 dinners (D) including a medieval-style banquet in a castle, and Taylors Three Rock traditional Irish dinner and show.
Hotels:
Hyatt Centric The Liberties, Dublin (1 night)
Hilton Belfast Hotel, Belfast (2 nights)
City Hotel, Derry (1 night)
Hotel Westport, Westport (2 nights)
Bunratty Castle Hotel, Bunratty (1 night)
Killarney Plaza Hotel, Killarney (2 nights)
Granville Hotel, Waterford (1 night)
Royal Marine Hotel, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin (2 night)

ITINERARY

2020 Irish Classic – 13 Days / 12 Nights / 21 Meals

Day 1: Dublin Tour & Dublin Castle
Tour begins 2:00 PM at your Dublin hotel. Take a panoramic tour of Dublin, seeing such sights as elegant Georgian townhouses, St Stephen’s Green and the River Liffey. Visit Dublin Castle, the seat of power and government in Ireland for many centuries. Take a guided tour through the castle and see the State Apartments, used today for official functions and presidential inaugurations. Enjoy a welcome drink with your group before dining independently.

Day 2: St. Patrick’s Grave & Crumlin Road Gaol
Visit Down Cathedral where St. Patrick’s historical burial site is marked by a huge boulder. Immerse yourself in his work, life, and times in the nearby St. Patrick Centre. Explore Crumlin Road Gaol and see what prison life was like through the ages. Head to central Belfast for some time to relax before dinner at your hotel.  (B, D)

Day 3: Titanic Belfast & Walking Tour
Tour central Belfast to see Victorian buildings, the imposing City Hall in Donegall Square, and the shipyards where RMS Titanic was built in 1912. Visit Titanic Belfast to learn about the ill-fated liner, which was built in the city. In the afternoon, join a local guide for a walking tour of Belfast before spending time on your own.  (B)

Day 4: Giant’s Causeway & Derry Walk
Drive north along the Nine Glens of Antrim for views of mountains, valleys, and coastline. This scenic region is one of the locations for “Game of Thrones.” Stop for photos at the ruins of Dunluce Castle. Explore the Giant’s Causeway, enormous hexagonal columns formed by volcanic activity 60 million years ago. In Derry join a local guide for a short walking tour around the defensive walls that encircle the compact old city.  (B, D)

Day 5: Donegal & Westport
Travel through the rugged countryside of Donegal, renowned for heathery hills, sheep and the many tweeds made from their wool. Drive around Donegal Bay and through Counties Sligo and Mayo. Take a walking tour of historic Westport with a local guide, before dinner in your hotel this evening.  (B, D)

Day 6: Sheep Herding & Westport House
Enjoy views of the pilgrimage mountain of Croagh Patrick and stop in the beautiful town of Leenane. Head to a local farm to watch skilled dogs herd sheep. View Killary Harbour, Ireland’s only fjord. Enjoy a drink before taking a guided tour of Westport House, an 18th-century home complete with its original contents including portraits, furniture, silver, and porcelain. Have dinner in Westport this evening.  (B,D)

Day 7: Galway & Cliffs of Moher
Travel to Galway for some free time to explore the city. Head out to visit the majestic Cliffs of Moher, which soar 700 feet above the Atlantic. Enjoy an evening at a medieval-style banquet in an authentic Irish castle.  (B, D)

Day 8: Dingle Peninsula & John B. Keane’s Pub
Travel the outskirts of Limerick and along the River Shannon into County Kerry. Sample tea and scones in a the family of the late, famed playwright J. B. Keane in Listowell. Journey along the Dingle Peninsula to Slea Head for glorious scenic views of hills and coastline. Stop in Dingle for refreshment or a look around before heading to Killarney.   (B, D)

Day 9: Jaunting Car Ride & Killarney
Enjoy a scenic, traditional horse-drawn jaunting car ride to Ross Castle and the Kenmare Estate. Travel along part of the Ring of Kerry to view spectacular mountain scenery at Moll’s Gap and at Ladies View stopping off in Kenmare for lunch and free time. Return to Killarney where the evening is free for independent dining and perhaps a visit to a local pub with live music.  (B, L)

Day 10: Blarney Castle & Waterford
Visit Blarney Castle to kiss the famous “Stone of Eloquence” or stroll the lovely gardens. Travel on to Dungarvan to enjoy an Irish coffee and traditional music at the Marine Bar. Continue to Waterford where a local guide will lead a stroll around the historic old port city.   (B, D)

Day 11: Waterford & Dunbrody Famine Ship
Witness the creation of crystal masterpieces at the House of Waterford Crystal. In New Ross explore the Dunbrody Famine Ship, which transported people to North America during the 1840’s famine. Enjoy dinner and a show at Taylors Three Rock.   (B, D)

Day 12: Independent Dublin Sightseeing
Enjoy your day in Dublin independently, on the Hop-On, Hop-Off bus tour. Use your voucher to visit your choice of one of Dublin’s top attractions: Guinness Storehouse, Teeling Distillery, EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, or GPO Witness History. In the evening, dine at one of the many restaurants or pubs that Dun Laoghaire has to offer.  (B)

Day 13: Tour Ends In Dublin
Your program ends after breakfast.  (B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

Start End Price
Saturday Mar 7, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Mar 19, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$3678
Saturday Mar 28, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Apr 9, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$3639
Thursday Apr 2, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 14, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$3769
Saturday Apr 4, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Apr 16, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$3769
Saturday Apr 11, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Apr 23, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4224
Saturday Apr 25, 2020 from Dublin Thursday May 7, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4458
Thursday May 7, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday May 19, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4419
Saturday May 9, 2020 from Dublin Thursday May 21, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$5264
Thursday May 14, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday May 26, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4718
Saturday May 16, 2020 from Dublin Thursday May 28, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4718
Saturday May 30, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jun 11, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$5602
Thursday Jun 4, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 16, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4809
Saturday Jun 6, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jun 18, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4861
Thursday Jun 11, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 23, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4861
Saturday Jun 20, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jul 2, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4861
Saturday Jun 27, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jul 9, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4926
Saturday Jul 18, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jul 30, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4926
Saturday Aug 1, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Aug 13, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4822
Saturday Aug 8, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Aug 20, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$5706
Thursday Aug 20, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 1, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4861
Saturday Aug 29, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Sep 10, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4822
Thursday Sep 3, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 15, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$5667
Saturday Sep 12, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Sep 24, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4822
Thursday Sep 17, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 29, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4861
Saturday Sep 26, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Oct 8, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$5394
Thursday Oct 1, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 13, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4315
Saturday Oct 10, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Oct 22, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$3860
Saturday Oct 17, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Oct 29, 2020 to Dublin 13 Days C$4705