2020 Irish Gold Coach Tour – 8 Days/7 Nights  or 9 Days/8 Nights

TOUR HIGHLIGHTS

Authentic Local Experiences

  • Local guides will impart historic facts and local lore on walking tours of Dublin’s Trinity College, Galway and Waterford.
  • Join generations of pub-goers in raising a glass at Sean’s Bar in Athlone – Featured in the Guinness Book of World Records as the oldest bar in Europe, it’s been serving thirsty customers since 900 AD.

Dining Experiences

  • 8 breakfasts (B), 2 lunches (L) and 4 dinners (D) including a traditional Irish Night in Killarney, and a Dublin restaurant.

Trip Highlights

Hotels – 8 Nights

ITINERARY

2020 Irish Gold 9 Days / 8 Nights / 14 Meals

Day 1: Dublin Tour & The Book of Kells
Tour begins 2:00 PM at your hotel in Dun Laoghaire, a charming suburb of Dublin just outside the city. Head out for an introductory tour of Dublin including O’Connell Street, St. Stephen’s Green, the seat of government at Leinster House, and other public buildings. Take a stroll through Trinity College’s campus in the center of the city with a guide and view the priceless 9th-century Book of Kells, an illuminated manuscript of the four Gospels. Enjoy an independent evening at one of Dun Laoghaire’s many restaurants or pubs

Day 2: Sean’s Bar & Galway City Tour 
Head to the beautiful harbor city of Galway, stopping off for a welcome drink and a CIE Tours Exclusive experience at Sean’s Bar in Athlone, the oldest bar in Europe; Sean’s Bar has been serving customers since 900 AD. Take a guided walking tour through Galway center to view its iconic 18th-century Eyre Square and the surrounding stone-clad buildings and medieval winding lanes. Enjoy some free time to explore Galway on your own, then join your fellow travelers for dinner at your hotel. (B, D)

Day 3: Connemara Catamaran Cruise & Kylemore Abbey
Explore scenic Connemara to admire how constantly-changing cloud formations give granite hills, sparkling lakes and peat bogs an added dimension. Take a short catamaran cruise of Killary Harbour, a 9-mile fjord (seasonal). Head to Kylemore Abbey to see elegant rooms and the charming church, set beside a tranquil lake. Visit the Victorian Walled Gardens and enjoy a casual lunch. Return to Galway where the evening is free to explore the city (B, L)

Day 4: Sheepdogs, Cliffs & Traditional Irish Night
Travel south around Galway Bay and through the Burren, a region of rounded limestone hills that has a curious lunar-like appearance. Immerse yourself in farm life and watch trained sheepdogs obey their owner as they direct sheep through various obstacles. Visit the Cliffs of Moher, which rise almost 700 feet above the pounding Atlantic surf. Embark on a memorable ferry ride across the River Shannon Estuary and head to Killarney. The evening concludes with a traditional Irish night featuring a lively show with dinner. (B, D)

Day 5: Jaunting Car Ride & Ring of Kerry Highlights
Take a traditional horse-drawn jaunting car through Killarney National Park to scenic Ross Castle, set on the shores of Lough Leane. Set out on Ireland’s most popular scenic drive and see highlights of  the Ring of Kerry, with plenty of stops for photo opportunities. Savor a light lunch and take a break in the colorful village of Kenmare. Return to Killarney for an evening on your own. (B, L)

Day 6: Blarney Castle & Traditional Music Session
Drive through the mountains into rich farming country on the way to Blarney Castle. Kiss the famous “Stone of Eloquence” or explore the tranquil gardens. Travel along the coast to the Marine Bar in Dungarvan for some traditional music. Continue to Waterford to witness the creation of crystal masterpieces during your visit to the House of Waterford Crystal. (B, D)

Day 7: Waterford Walk & Kilkenny
In the morning join a local guide for a walking tour through the narrow streets of the old city to discover Waterford’s long history and some of its colorful characters. Later, stop in Kilkenny for a look around the medieval city center and have lunch on your own. Partake in the Smithwick’s Experience and enjoy a tasting paddle of their famous ales. Travel to Dublin and in the evening head to Cleaver East, a popular Dublin restaurant for a glass of wine and farewell dinner. (B, D)

Day 8: Independent Day in Dublin
Enjoy an independent Hop-On, Hop-Off bus tour and a visit to one of Dublin’s top attractions — Guinness Storehouse, Teeling Distillery, EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, or GPO Witness History. (B)

Day 9: Tour Ends in Dublin
Your program ends after breakfast. (B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

8 days

ITINERARY

2020 Irish Gold 8 Days / 7 Nights /13 Meals

Day 1: Dublin Tour & The Book of Kells
Tour begins 2:00 PM at your hotel in Dun Laoghaire, a charming suburb of Dublin just outside the city. Head out for an introductory tour of Dublin including O’Connell Street, St. Stephen’s Green, the seat of government at Leinster House, and other public buildings. Take a stroll through Trinity College’s campus in the center of the city with a guide and view the priceless 9th-century Book of Kells, an illuminated manuscript of the four Gospels. Enjoy an independent evening at one of Dun Laoghaire’s many restaurants or pubs.

Day 2: Sean’s Bar & Galway City Tour 
Head to the beautiful harbor city of Galway, stopping off for a welcome drink and a CIE Tours Exclusive experience at Sean’s Bar in Athlone, the oldest bar in Europe; Sean’s Bar has been serving customers since 900 AD. Take a guided walking tour through Galway center to view its iconic 18th-century Eyre Square and the surrounding stone-clad buildings and medieval winding lanes. Enjoy some free time to explore Galway on your own, then join your fellow travelers for dinner at your hotel.  (B, D)

Day 3: Connemara Catamaran Cruise & Kylemore Abbey
Explore scenic Connemara to admire how constantly-changing cloud formations give granite hills, sparkling lakes and peat bogs an added dimension. Take a short catamaran cruise of Killary Harbour, a 9-mile fjord (seasonal). Head to Kylemore Abbey to see elegant rooms and the charming church, set beside a tranquil lake. Visit the Victorian Walled Gardens and enjoy a casual lunch. Return to Galway where the evening is free to explore the city.  (B, L)

Day 4: Sheepdogs, Cliffs & Traditional Irish Night
Travel south around Galway Bay and through the Burren, a region of rounded limestone hills that has a curious lunar-like appearance. Immerse yourself in farm life and watch trained sheepdogs obey their owner as they direct sheep through various obstacles. Visit the Cliffs of Moher, which rise almost 700 feet above the pounding Atlantic surf. Embark on a memorable ferry ride across the River Shannon Estuary and head to Killarney. The evening concludes with a traditional Irish night featuring a lively show with dinner.  (B, D)

Day 5: Jaunting Car Ride & Ring of Kerry
Take a traditional horse-drawn jaunting car through Killarney National Park to scenic Ross Castle, set on the shores of Lough Leane. Set out on Ireland’s most popular scenic drive and see the highlights of the Ring of Kerry, with plenty of stops for photo opportunities. . Savor a light lunch and take a break in the colorful village of Kenmare. Return to Killarney for an evening on your own.  (B, L)

Day 6: Blarney Castle & Traditional Music Session
Drive through the mountains into rich farming country on the way to Blarney Castle. Kiss the famous “Stone of Eloquence” or explore the tranquil gardens. Travel along the coast to the Marine Bar in Dungarvan for some traditional music. Continue to Waterford to witness the creation of crystal masterpieces during your visit to the House of Waterford Crystal.  (B, D)

Day 7: Waterford Walk & Kilkenny
In the morning join a local guide for a walking tour through the narrow streets of the old city to discover Waterford’s long history and some of its colorful characters. Later, stop in Kilkenny for a look around the medieval city center and have lunch on your own. Partake in the Smithwick’s Experience and enjoy a tasting paddle of their famous ales. Travel to Dublin and in the evening head to Cleaver East, a popular Dublin restaurant for a glass of wine and a farewell dinner.  (B, D)

Day 8: Tour Ends in Dublin
Your program ends after breakfast.  (B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

Start End Price
Sunday Mar 22, 2020 from Dublin Monday Mar 30, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$2599
Sunday Apr 5, 2020 from Dublin Monday Apr 13, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$2781
Sunday Apr 12, 2020 from Dublin Monday Apr 20, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$2794
Wednesday Apr 15, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Apr 23, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$2794
Sunday Apr 19, 2020 from Dublin Monday Apr 27, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3379
Wednesday Apr 22, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Apr 30, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$2924
Sunday Apr 26, 2020 from Dublin Monday May 4, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3184
Wednesday Apr 29, 2020 from Dublin Thursday May 7, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3275
Wednesday May 6, 2020 from Dublin Thursday May 14, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3470
Sunday May 10, 2020 from Dublin Monday May 18, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3470
Wednesday May 13, 2020 from Dublin Thursday May 21, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3470
Sunday May 17, 2020 from Dublin Monday May 25, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3470
Sunday May 24, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jun 1, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3470
Wednesday May 27, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jun 4, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Sunday May 31, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jun 8, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$4120
Sunday Jun 7, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jun 15, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3600
Wednesday Jun 10, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jun 18, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Sunday Jun 14, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jun 22, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Wednesday Jun 24, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jul 2, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3600
Sunday Jun 28, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jul 6, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$4185
Sunday Jul 5, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jul 13, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3600
Sunday Jul 12, 2020 from Dublin Monday Jul 20, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3600
Wednesday Jul 15, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jul 23, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Wednesday Jul 22, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Jul 30, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Sunday Aug 2, 2020 from Dublin Monday Aug 10, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Wednesday Aug 5, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Aug 13, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$4120
Sunday Aug 9, 2020 from Dublin Monday Aug 17, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Wednesday Aug 12, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Aug 20, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3470
Sunday Aug 16, 2020 from Dublin Monday Aug 24, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3457
Wednesday Aug 19, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Aug 27, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3405
Sunday Aug 23, 2020 from Dublin Monday Aug 31, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Wednesday Aug 26, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Sep 3, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3405
Sunday Aug 30, 2020 from Dublin Monday Sep 7, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3990
Wednesday Sep 2, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Sep 10, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3457
Sunday Sep 6, 2020 from Dublin Monday Sep 14, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Sunday Sep 13, 2020 from Dublin Monday Sep 21, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3457
Wednesday Sep 16, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Sep 24, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3535
Sunday Sep 20, 2020 from Dublin Monday Sep 28, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3340
Sunday Sep 27, 2020 from Dublin Monday Oct 5, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3210
Wednesday Sep 30, 2020 from Dublin Thursday Oct 8, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3795
Sunday Oct 4, 2020 from Dublin Monday Oct 12, 2020 to Dublin 9 Days C$3210