2020 Irish Odyssey – 12 Days/11 Nights

TOUR HIGHLIGHTS

Authentic Local Experiences:

  • Explore the picturesque little church at Ballintubber Abbey; located on an old pilgrim road, it’s been in continuous use for 800 years!
  • Visit a pub once owned by Páidí Ó Sé, an Irish sporting great, and the family pub of the late John B. Keane, one of Ireland’s finest playwrights.
  • Relax as you take in a special step-dancing display at the Cabra Castle Hotel.

Trip Highlights:

  • Ballintubber Abbey
  • Belleek Pottery
  • Brú na Boinne Visitor Center
  • Cliffs of Moher
  • Giant’s Causeway
  • Kilmainham Gaol
  • Kylemore Abbey
  • Titanic Belfast

Dining Experiences:

  • 11 hot breakfasts (B), 1 lunch (L) and 9 dinners (D) including Taylors Three Rock Pub with a live show, Páidí Ó Sé’s Pub in Ventry with a talk on Gaelic sports, and the Walled City Brewery Restaurant in Derry.

Hotels:

  • Herbert Park Hotel, Dublin (2 nights)
  • The River Lee Hotel, Cork (1 night)
  • Killarney Plaza Hotel, Killarney (2 nights)
  • The Galmont Hotel & Spa, Galway (2 nights)
  • City Hotel Derry, Derry (2 nights)
  • Cabra Castle Hotel, Kingscourt (1 night)
  • Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, Trim (1 night)

ITINERARY

HIDE ALL

2020 IRISH ODYSSEY 12 DAYS / 11 NIGHTS / 21 MEALS

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

Day 1 Dublin Tour & Kilmainham Gaol

Tour begins 2:00 PM at your Dublin hotel. Set out on a tour of highlights of the city and view Trinity College, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, and the General Post Office, and tour Kilmainham Gaol where many of Ireland’s leaders were imprisoned during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Enjoy a welcome drink with your group before dining independently.

Day 2 EPIC – The Irish Emigration Museum & Taylors Three Rock Pub

Visit EPIC the Irish Emigration Museum, the world's only fully digital museum, and discover the story of the 10 million people who have left Ireland over the last 1,500 years –and their impact on the world. Your afternoon is free to explore Dublin. Later, enjoy dinner and entertainment at Taylors Three Rock Pub. (B, D)

Day 3 Farmhouse Visit & House of Waterford Crystal

Travel through Kildare to visit a traditional farmhouse and learn about country living while enjoying tea and scones. At the House of Waterford Crystal, watch experienced craftspeople blow glass and cut crystal. Continue along the south coast to Cork for dinner. (B, D)

Day 4 Blarney Castle & Killarney

Start your day with a local guide on a brief walking tour of Cork and the English Market. Visit Blarney Castle to kiss the famous “Stone of Eloquence” or stroll through the lovely gardens. Enjoy the scenery in Counties Cork and Kerry as you head to the colorful town of Kenmare. Stop at Moll’s Gap for great views of part of the Ring of Kerry. (B, D)

Day 5 Jaunting Car Ride & Dingle Peninsula

Take a traditional horse-drawn jaunting car ride to Ross Castle and Kenmare Estate and see Lough Leane, the largest of Killarney’s lakes. Travel to the scenic Dingle Peninsula for views of heathery mountains, sandy stretches of beach, and rocky headlands. Enjoy a demonstration of highly-skilled sheepdogs herding sheep at a local farm. Stop at Slea Head to admire the views and take photos. Enjoy dinner at Páidí Ó Sé’s pub in Ventry while you hear a fun talk on Gaelic sports. (B, D)

Day 6 Cliffs of Moher & Galway

Visit the family pub of the late famed playwright, John B. Keane for some tea and scones. One of Ireland's most beloved writers, he wrote many of his works in a room behind the bar. Embark on a ferry ride across the River Shannon Estuary and drive along the coast of County Clare. View the famous Cliffs of Moher, which soar 700 feet above the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to O’Brien’s Tower for views of Connemara and the Aran Islands. Join a local guide for a walking tour of Galway. (B, D)

Day 7 Connemara & Corrib Cruise

Travel through Connemara for sweeping views of misty mountains and shimmering lakes. Take a scenic cruise on Lough Corrib and sip some creamy Irish coffee (seasonal). Stop at Kylemore Abbey for a walk through the elegant mansion set beside a tranquil lake. Enjoy a casual lunch before returning to Galway, where the rest of the day is free for independent sightseeing and dining. (B, L)

Day 8 Ballintubber Abbey & Belleek Pottery

Travel north to Claremorris to visit Ballintubber Abbey, known as “the Abbey that refused to die,” Ireland's only royal Abbey, which has been in continuous use for more than 780 years. Visit Belleek Pottery, then follow the Atlantic shoreline of Donegal Bay to the town of Donegal for some free time. Continue your drive through the majestic Barnesmore Gap to Derry. (B, D)

Day 9 Giant's Causeway & Derry Walk

Explore the Giant’s Causeway, huge hexagonal columns formed over 60 million years ago. Back in Derry, join a local guide for a walk around this historic city’s medieval walls; take a walk across the Peace Bridge and complete your tour at the Walled City Brewery Restaurant. You'll enjoy a drink with your dinner and a flight of 4 of the brewery's beers to taste - plus you'll get a bottle of CIE Tours' signature beer to take away. (B, D)

Day 10 Titanic Belfast & Cabra Castle Stay

Head to Belfast for a panoramic city tour followed by a visit to Titanic Belfast. Travel to Kingscourt and your castle hotel, built in 1760. Arrive mid-afternoon to enjoy this lovely property. After dinner in the Court Restaurant, enjoy a display of Irish step-dancing. (B, D)

Day 11 Megalithic Tombs & Farewell Dinner

Visit the Brú na Boinne Visitor Centre to learn about the 5,000-year-old burial tombs of Newgrange and Knowth, followed by a visit to one of these mysterious marvels. Travel to your hotel in Trim, the setting for some scenes of the movie "Braveheart", and enjoy some free time. In the evening, share a farewell dinner with your group. (B, D)

Day 12 Tour Ends in Trim

Your program ends after breakfast. (B)

Start End Price
Friday Mar 6, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Mar 17, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3028
Friday Mar 13, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Mar 24, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3093
Friday Mar 20, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Mar 31, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3873
Friday Apr 3, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 14, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3509
Friday Apr 10, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 21, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3405
Friday Apr 24, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday May 5, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday May 1, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday May 12, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4224
Friday May 15, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday May 26, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$5069
Friday May 22, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 2, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday May 29, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 9, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4354
Friday Jun 5, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 16, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$5134
Friday Jun 12, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 23, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Jun 19, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 30, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Jun 26, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 7, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Jul 3, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 14, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4484
Friday Jul 10, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 21, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Jul 17, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 28, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$5199
Friday Jul 31, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Aug 11, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Aug 7, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Aug 18, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Aug 14, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Aug 25, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$5199
Friday Aug 21, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 1, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4419
Friday Aug 28, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 8, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4289
Friday Sep 4, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 15, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4289
Friday Sep 11, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 22, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4224
Friday Sep 18, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 29, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$5004
Friday Sep 25, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 6, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4159
Friday Oct 2, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 13, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3704
Friday Oct 9, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 20, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3704
Friday Oct 16, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 27, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$4484
Friday Oct 23, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 3, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3340
Friday Oct 30, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 10, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$3119
Friday Nov 6, 2020 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 17, 2020 to Dublin 12 Days C$2963